Where can I see the URLs associated to a translation?

In this article, you'll see how Weglot is managing the translation's associated URLs




1. What is the associated URL of a translation?

The Weglot translation mechanism works like this:

  • It scans the original content of your online website (HTML file)
  • After the scan, Weglot parses (read and cut) the elements between HTML tags
  • It automatically translates this original content to its translated equivalent. It also reuses the translations that are already in your translations list if some contents have already been translated
  • If there are contents that are not in the translations list, Weglot will translate and add them to your translations list available in your Weglot Dashboard

This means that all the translations generated by Weglot will be included in your translations list. You can reach your translations list from your Weglot Dashboard > Your project > Click on the corresponding pair of languages.


Also, Weglot can associate one translation with several URLs if the translation is on several pages on your website. If a visitor asks for a translation of a paragraph on "/page2" and if the same paragraph is already generated for "/page1", no new translation will be generated. It will be associated with both "/page1" and "/page2".

Finally, please note that Weglot is using the relative URLs (/product/) and not the absolute ones (https://mywebsite.com/product/)

It means that your homepage will appear like this: /


2. Where to find the URL(s) associated to a translation?

To manually change the URL of a translation, you can go into your Translations List and use the search bar and the different filters to locate any translations easily:

--> Search Filters - How to easily find a translation?

Once you've found the translation, you can click on the button with three lines at its right:

You should then see a new window with different tabs. In this case, click on "Information":

Finally, you'll see a field named "Associated URLs," in which you can see all the URLs associated with the selected translation.

You can directly access these URLs by using the button on the right of them.


3. What if I exclude a URL from the translation?

If you want to know more about URL exclusions, you can look at this article we made.

When you exclude a URL from the translation, you can choose to delete the translations linked to this URL.

If you activate this option, the translations linked to the excluded URL will be deleted.

However, it won't be deleted if a translation is linked to the excluded URL and active ones.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us