What is the private mode?

In this article, you will see how to use the private mode on your website - A feature allowing you to disable the translations display for your visitors during your editions.

1) When you set up Weglot, it's set as "public" by default. All your visitors can access the translated pages. 

Using the private mode, you'll be able to see the translated pages, when logged to your admin. Your visitors won't be able to see translated pages until you reactivate public mode. It's useful to edit your translations and see how it looks on your website before publishing it to your visitors.

2) How to switch to private mode? 

Go to your Weglot Dashboard > Translations > then click on the "options" button on a language and unselect the public option:

So you can set the private mode on a specific language(s) or on all of them

⚠️  As mentioned, you can switch off this option if you want the language to be private, meaning it is only available by adding ?weglot-private=1 at the end of the URL.
(eg: mywebsite.com/?weglot-private=1)
This means it won't be visible for search engines and/or visitors.

3) How to switch back to public mode? 

Check the Public mode option back, your visitors will be able to see your button and your translations

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us